500 Vegan Recipes

Booze It Up Cookies

Posted in recipes by Celine on March 2, 2010

NIK_7100

Is there anything booze can’t do, in baked goods? I didn’t think so.
These are wonderful made with tahini, too, but be sure not to add oil if your paste is rather thin, the way tahini is known to be, otherwise it would make for a greasy mess.

Please note that the recipe comes with a typo in the book: it’s missing cornstarch!

1/4 cup plus 3 tablespoons (105 ml) canola oil
3/4 cup (144 g) raw sugar
1 1/2 cups (384 g) creamy nut butter of choice (peanut, almond, cashew…)
1 tablespoon (15 ml) pure vanilla extract
3/4 cup (180 ml) coffee liqueur, such as Kahlua
1 1/2 tablespoons (12 g) cornstarch
3/4 cup (120 g) brown rice flour
3/4 cup (90 g) light spelt flour
3/4 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon fine sea salt
Handful nondairy semisweet chocolate chips, optional

Preheat oven to 350°F (180°C, or gas mark 4). Line two cookie sheets with parchment paper or silicone baking mats, such as Silpat.
In a medium bowl, whisk together oil, sugar, peanut butter, vanilla, and coffee liqueur until emulsified.
Add cornstarch, flours, baking powder, and salt. Stir until well combined.
Divide dough into 20 equal portions, using about 2 tablespoons (50 g) worth of dough.
Flatten on prepared cookie sheets: the cookies don’t spread much while baking. Decorate with a crosshatch pattern if desired, using a fork. Press a few optional chocolate chips on top.
Bake for 14 minutes or until nicely colored around the edges. Wait 15 minutes before transferring them to a wire rack to cool completely.

Yield: 20 cookies

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Josiane said, on March 2, 2010 at 7:46 pm

    I knew there was a reason why I needed to replenish our coffee liqueur stock! :)
    Those sound terrific!

  2. Mary said, on April 17, 2010 at 9:30 pm

    Mmmm. I have a few of those big bottles of kaluha in my cupboard because for a few years in a row, that was always my father in law’s birthday present to me. Nice of him, but I’m not a drinker, but like to use alcohol in culinary adventures. I’m definitely using some in this recipe. I have the egg allergy and am always on the lookout for eggless baking recipes. Thanks for being there. I work in a bookstore and am going to check out your cookbook, as well.
    Mary

  3. Patty said, on May 7, 2010 at 2:33 pm

    Awesome recipe – great use of whole grain goodness in a decadent treat. I would consider these an efficient breakfast. ;) Thanks for sharing!

  4. iwan said, on July 2, 2010 at 7:50 am

    Best cookies — I tried this at my home last week…and I am waiting your next cookies recipes.
    Thanks a lot.

  5. Ashley said, on September 10, 2010 at 2:42 am

    These would be great in the morning!

  6. Irene @ H.V.R. said, on September 26, 2011 at 8:49 am

    Great recipe! Best serve together with my kid’s pack lunch. Can’t wait to try this out.

  7. dandyna said, on December 11, 2011 at 12:29 pm

    yum! I would love to try baking these with cashews’ butter instead of usual peanuts’…..must be original and different flavour! cheers from an italian vegan!

  8. coastalmom said, on April 9, 2013 at 12:36 pm

    Soooo many great recipes here that I have got to share with my daughter! I will just have to send her your site!

    http://thenakedbird.wordpress.com/2013/04/09/vanilla-cashew-milk-waste-not-want-not/


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 37 other followers

